The Leading Goal Scorers In The History Of The CONMEBOL Copa América

For over a century, CONMEBOL Copa América™ has been a stage for top footballers, including great goal scorers like Eduardo Vargas and Paolo Guerrero. 

Copa América


Copa America

Learn about the highest scorers in this historic tournament:

Óscar Gómez Sánchez (Peru)

Scored 11 goals while playing for Alianza Lima. He participated in the CONMEBOL Copa América from 1953 to 1959, with his best performance being six goals in the 1955 edition.

Herminio Masantonio (Argentina)

Also scored 11 goals. He represented Huracán in the 1935 and 1942 editions of the tournament. Despite his scoring prowess, Argentina didn’t win the title in either of those years.

Ángel Romano (Uruguay)

Scored 12 goals and won six Copa América titles with Uruguay. He was one of the top scorers in the early years of the tournament, contributing goals consistently across multiple editions.

Roberto Porta (Uruguay)

Also scored 12 goals. He played for Ambrosiana-Inter in Italy and scored in every tournament from 1939 to 1945. His standout performance was in 1942, where he netted five goals.

Héctor Scarone (Uruguay)

Scored 13 goals and is remembered for his incredible feat of scoring five goals in a single match in 1926. He was also the top scorer of the tournament in 1927.

José Manuel Moreno (Argentina)

Scored 13 goals, including five in a single game during the 1942 edition. He played a significant role in Argentina’s success in the 1941 and 1947 tournaments.

Jair da Rosa Pinto (Brazil)

Scored 13 goals and was known for his goal-scoring prowess despite playing as a midfielder. He was the top scorer in the 1949 tournament with nine goals.

Gabriel Batistuta (Argentina)

Also scored 13 goals and was considered one of the best strikers of the 1990s. He played a critical role in Argentina’s title-winning campaign in 1991.

Ademir de Menezes (Brazil)

Scored 13 goals and was part of the championship-winning Brazil team in 1949. He was a natural goalscorer who consistently found the back of the net.

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Scored 13 goals across several editions of the Copa América, finally winning the title in 2021. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time.

Paolo Guerrero (Peru)

Scored 14 goals and was the top scorer in three different editions of the tournament. He has been a key player for the Peruvian national team for many years.

Eduardo Vargas (Chile)

Also scored 14 goals and was an important part of Chile’s golden generation, helping them win back-to-back Copa América titles in 2015 and 2016.

Severino Varela (Uruguay)

Scored 15 goals and won the title with Uruguay in his final tournament in 1942. He consistently delivered in front of goal for his team.

Teodoro Fernández (Peru)

Also scored 15 goals and played a vital role in Peru’s first-ever Copa América title win in 1939. He is remembered for his outstanding performances in that tournament.

Zizinho (Brazil)

Scored 17 goals and was a dominant force in midfield for Brazil. He played in six editions of the Copa América, winning the title in 1949.

Norberto Méndez (Argentina)

Also scored 17 goals and was part of Argentina’s three consecutive championship-winning teams from 1945 to 1947. He was known for his clinical finishing and leadership on the field.

Aleksandras Rusinovas

Sports Betting & eSports Expert

Aleksas was a professional poker player who played in many European Poker Tour tournaments throughout his 15-year career. He has achieved great success in online poker, as well as reaching the final table and cashing 20 times at the prestigious World Series Of Poker event. Aleksas has always been interested in sports betting. He has a strong i ..
100 € Esports bonus
Your luck is on vacation
3 BTC bonus
1500 € bonus
100 € bonus
5€ free bet
Enter your details to see what you have won.

A voucher to claim your prize will be sent to your email address.

Congratulations, you have won!! We have sent instructions on how to claim your prize to your email address. Thank you for participating!
Win a free bet